NASHOBA REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT SCHOOL COMMITTEE SPECIL MEETING

Remote meeting via Zoom Technology

This meeting was held remotely in accordance with the Governor of Massachusetts' March 12, 2020 Order Suspending Certain Provisions of the Open Meeting Law G.L. c. 30A, Section 2

October 26, 2020

<u>SCHOOL COMMITTEE IN ATTENDANCE:</u> Kathy Codianne, Joseph Gleason, Leah Vivirito, Stephen Rubinstein, Elaine Sanfilippo, Dr. Mary McCarthy, Rich Eckel, Amy Cohen, Sharon Poch, Brett Collins and Mike Horesh

<u>ADMINISTRATION IN ATTENDANCE</u>: Brooke Clenchy, Superintendent of Schools, Pat Marone, Business and Operations Manager and Ann Marie Stoica, Director of Human Resources

CALL TO ORDER AND PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Chairwomen Codianne called the meeting to order at 6:00 pm.

NEW BUSINESS

NONE

OLD BUSINESS

NRHS School Building Committee

Chairwoman Codianne advised of the MGL regarding the role of the School Committee in the selection of School Building Committee. Chairwoman Codianne advised that she has been on a couple phone conference with BSBA and spoke with Tom Ryan who voiced some concerns that happened on the Center School Building Committee. Chairwoman Codianne advised she expects two votes, one to determine size of the committee and one to determine who will vote on the committee. Superintendent Clenchy reviewed the template from MSBA and reviewed each category. Each member of the SC shared their thoughts on the building committee makeup. The School Committee came to a consensus of having a range of 15-25 members. The Committee discussed qualifications desired to fill each category and who should have voting rights. The Committee decided on how many in each category to be included, Superintendent will choose the individuals from those who have expressed interest, final building committee will be voted on at the next School Committee meeting.

MOTION

Rich Eckel moved all three Town Administrators or their designee be on the building committee as non-voting members; seconded by Mike Horesh

MOTION

Kathy Codianne moved amend the motion to remove the wording "their designee"; seconded by Mike Horesh

Roll Call:

Yes
Yes
NO
Yes
Yes
Yes

NRSD School Committee Meeting Minutes, October 26, 2020

Rich Eckel No
Amy Cohen Yes
Sharon Poch Yes
Stephen Rubinstein Yes
Brett Collins Yes
VOTED AND PASSED. (9-2-0)

MOTION

Rich Eckel moved all three Town Administrators be on the building committee as non-voting members; seconded by Mike Horesh

Roll Call:

Kathy Codianne No Joseph Gleason No Leah Vivirito No Elaine Sanfilippo No Dr. Mary McCarthy Yes Mike Horesh Yes Rich Eckel Yes Amy Cohen Yes Sharon Poch Abstain Stephen Rubinstein No **Brett Collins** No **VOTED AND FAILED. (4-6-1)**

MOTION

Rick Eckel moved all voting members of the School Building Committee be residents of the member towns; seconded by Dr. Mary McCarthy

Roll Call:

Kathy Codianne Yes Joseph Gleason No Leah Vivirito Yes Elaine Sanfilippo Yes Dr. Mary McCarthy Yes Mike Horesh Yes Rich Eckel Yes Amy Cohen Yes Sharon Poch Yes Stephen Rubinstein Yes Brett Collins Yes **VOTED AND PASSED. (10-1-0)**

MOTION

Rick Eckel moved Pat Marone, Rob Frieswick, Steve Cullinane and Brooke Clenchy be non-voting members for the School Building Committee; **MOTION WAS NOT SECONDED**

EXECUTIVE SESSION

NRSD School Committee Meeting Minutes, October 26, 2020

The committee went into Executive Session at 8:38 pm pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A, §21(a)(2) to conduct strategy sessions in preparation for negotiations with nonunion personnel or to conduct collective bargaining sessions or contract negotiations with nonunion personnel. Committee will adjourn in Executive Session.

MOTION

Elaine Sanfilippo moved to go into Executive Session at 8:38 pm pursuant to M.G.L. c. 30A, §21(a)(2) to conduct strategy sessions in preparation for negotiations with nonunion personnel or to conduct collective bargaining sessions or contract negotiations with nonunion personnel – Unit A. Committee will adjourn in Executive Session.; Executive Session to include Superintendent Clenchy, and Human Resources Director Ann Marie Stoica; seconded by Stephen Rubinstein

Roll Call:		
Kathy Codianne	Yes	
Joseph Gleason	Yes	
Leah Vivirito	Yes	
Elaine Sanfilippo	Yes	
Dr. Mary McCarthy	Yes	
Mike Horesh	Yes	
Rich Eckel	Yes	
Amy Cohen	Yes	
Sharon Poch	Yes	
Stephen Rubinstein	Yes	
Brett Collins	Yes	
VOTED AND PASSED. (11-0-0)		

Reference Documents and Presentations

Agenda Spreadsheet by Leah Vivirito

Approved by NRSC 11/4/20

Submitted by Aleta Masterson Executive Assistant to the

aleta S. Masterson

Superintendent/Assistant Superintendent

Pg.3